Governor's Youth Awards for Excellence

The Governor of Sint Maarten considers it important and as a result encourages young people to develop the qualities required to take an active and constructive role in Sint Maarten. The Governor believes that cultivating an attitude of excellence is instrumental to developing such qualities. The Governor's Youth Award for Excellence has as a result been designed to recognize youths, ages 13 through 19, who have performed above and beyond and excelled in specific fields in our community. The categories for which young persons will be recognized are:
1. Education –Youth Award for Excellence in Academics 
2. Sports – Youth Award for Excellence in Sports 
3. Arts – Youth Award for Excellence in Arts 
4. Environmental protection – Youth Award for Excellence in Environment Protection
5. Community service – Youth Award for Excellence in Community Service   

The Governor’s Youth Award for Excellence will be awarded to youths who have attained a level of  excellence in the selected fields greater than that achieved by others or whose performance have been  so exceptional that these achievements have identified this youth as being clearly outstanding from  others. Winners will receive their Youth Award for Excellence at the Award  Ceremony on June 17, 2022 taking COVID-19 health protocols into account.


Educational institutions, sports organizations, creative industries, environmental organizations, youth  organizations, faith-based organizations, service clubs, community organizations or others who know a young person who deserves to be recognized for their outstanding achievements are requested to submit  nominations using the nomination forms. Nominations must contain details and examples with supporting  documentation of the achievements and activities of the nominated youth as well as evidence of  compliance with eligibility, general and specific criteria established in the award guidelines. 

Winners are selected based on  a  recommendation by the evaluation committee. The evaluation committee  is  comprised of the following multi-disciplinary panel of professionals: Mrs. Oldine Bryson-Pantophlet (Chairperson), Ms. Cassandra Janssen (Secretary), Dr. Rolinda Carter, Mr. Maikel Cornet, Ms. Clara Reyes, Mr Rueben Thompson and Mrs. Fabiana Vanterpool-Arnell.

Persons and organizations are requested to submit typed nominations electronically 
via the nomination form not later than 11:59 p.m. on May 20, 2022.

  o Download the detailed program outline here:  Program Outline

  o Download the nomination form here: Nomination Form

Should you have any questions please contact the Cabinet of the Governor via e-mail
Please see the Questions & Answers document for answers to your questions.

The Governor reserves the right to accept or reject any nomination or to cancel the nomination process and reject all nominations, at any time prior to presenting the awards. This, without incurring any liability to the nominator or nominee or any obligation to inform the nominator or nominee of the grounds for the decision.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is provided for general information and is only intended as such. The information provided is not legally binding. The Office of the Governor of St. Maarten is not liable for any damage that may occur due to ambiguity or incompleteness of the data contained in this website.