Governor Holiday requests W. Marlin and S. Wescot-Williams to form government

may 11, 2012

    Harbour View – On Friday May 11, 2012, His Excellency the Governor of Sint Maarten, drs. E.B. Holiday, requested William Marlin and Sarah Wescot-Williams to form a new government as formateurs.

    The Governor, based on the results of two day consultations, met with William Marlin and Sarah Wescot-Williams and requested them to form a new government consisting of ministers who are committed to the promotion of the wellbeing of Sint Maarten and dedicated to jointly execute the governing accord, agreed upon by the coalition partners National Alliance, Democratic Party and the three independent Members of Parliament,  Frans Richardson, Patrick Illidge and Romaine Laville. In addition, the Governor emphasized the importance of the strict observance of the regulatory requirements, applicable to the appointment for candidate-ministers.

    The formateurs took the commission into consideration and will inform the Governor regularly during the formation process. The formateurs presented the Governor the NA/DP/I-3 governing accord “Working For the People” as well as the division of portfolios and the list of candidate ministers.